8sixteen32 | DJMag.com Skip to main content

8sixteen32

Grime brushes up for the theatre

8Sixteen32, so called because of the typical bar lines used in grime, is a new theatre piece commissioned by Birmingham Rep.

Based on an initial idea by Charlie Dark, augmented by the writing of poet/storyteller/MC Polarbear and with music from Mark De Clive Lowe, the show uses 40 MCs including Evoke, LCB, Professor D and RTKal who were auditioned specially.

Built around a series of set pieces, 8Sixteen32 mixes comedy and drama to depict the highs and lows of the scene and its participants, who pit their skills amongst one another whilst trying to negotiate the corporate world and its attempts to make money from their urban credibility.

Having already performed to much acclaim at Latitude, the play tours the country throughout October.

OCTOBER TOUR DATES 

30th Sept -1st Oct @ The Albany, Deptford  www.thealbany.org.uk
4th-5th @ The Egg, Bath www.theatreroyal.org.uk/the-egg
7th-8th @ Contact Theatre, Manchester www.contact-theatre.org
12th @ Redbridge Drama Centre www.redbridgedramacentre.co.uk
14th-15th @ North Wall Arts Centre, Oxford www.thenorthwall.com
19th @ Peepul Centre, Leicester www.peepulcentre.com
20th @ Arena Theatre, Wolverhampton www.arena.wlv.ac.uk
21st - 23rd @ The Drum, Birmingham www.the-drum.org.uk
25th @ Hull Truck Theatre www.hulltruck.co.uk  
27th @ Harrow Arts Centre www.harrowarts.com
28th @ Broadway Theatre, Barking www.thebroadwaybarking.com