Skip to main content

Best Of British 2011: Best Compilation - Various ‘Way Of The Warrior’

WARRIOR CHARGE! Drum & bass titans show their quality with wide-ranging collection

The prestigious accolade of the “best compilation” goes to Shogun Audio’s ‘Way Of The Warrior’ LP — a 12-track panorama of previously unreleased tracks which brings together the very best of d&b and dubstep from friends and family of the Brighton-based label, which was set up in 2004 by Ed Keeley (Friction) and Kier Tyrer (K-Tee).

Contributions from Break, dBridge and Commix sit side-by-side with fresh new cuts from label co-owners Friction & K-Tee and Shogun assassins Rockwell, Alix Perez, Spectrasoul and Icicle, plus newcomers Foreign Concept and Bringa, all representing the forward-thinking and ever-evolving Shogun sound.
“This album is Shogun Audio's 50th release and is a real milestone for the label,” K-Tee explains. “We pulled out all the stops for this one and all the artists really ramped up their studio sessions. We tried to create an elite body of work featuring Shogun artists old and new, which represents not only where the label has come from, but also where we are moving to.”

It’s true: in the seven years since its inception, Shogun Audio has risen through the ranks into the upper echelons of d&b and is now one of the most respected labels in the business, with a cohesive crew of artists and a wide-reaching pull that spans the deep, dark and moody, musical and melodic, experimental and dancefloor-driven aspects of the genre. If this album is an indication of where the label is going, then the future is very bright indeed for Shogun Audio.
K-Tee’s final words, though, are: “Thanks to all the fans who voted, the artists involved and all the staff back at the office, a lot of hard work goes into making these things happen, so it's great to receive this recognition, especially as it's voted for by the public.”

<<< Best Artist Album Best Record Label >>>

  The Other Nominees

Ben UFO ‘Rinse 16’ (Rinse) Giles Smith & James Priestley ’10 Years Of Secretsundaze’ (Secretsundaze) Scuba ‘Dj Kicks’ (!K7) Four Tet ‘Fabriclive 59’ (Fabric)