Skip to main content

New Mumdance mixtape

Cerebral Ballzy's The Griptape

Diplo disciple Mumdance is dropping yet another in his parade of eleclectic mixes. This time, he’s teamed up with skate-punks Cerebral Ballzy for a mix called The GripTape.

While it’s debatable as to whether Cerebral Ballzy are the best band of all time, it’s uncontested that they have the best band name in the universe, and they fit in fine on this mix, which smelts together tracks from hardcore punk heroes Black Flag, Circle Jerks, Minor Threat, and Bad Brains, as well as newer punkers such as the late, great Jay Reatard and Cerebral Ballzy themselves. Additionally, the tape is stitched together by Beavis & Butthead samples and is bookended by Ballzy remixes done by Mumdance himself.

Download it here, and prepare for an afternoon of headbanging and jokes about chicken choking. Here’s Cerebral Bally’s myspace, as well as the page for Mumdance.

01. - Cerebral Ballzy - SK8 All Day (Mumdance Remix)
02. - Jay Reatard - Death Is Forming
03. - Circle Jerks - Wild In The Streets
04. - Cerebral Ballzy - Insufficient Fare
05. - Minor Threat - Seeing Red
06. - Bad Brains - Sailin' On
07. - Cerebral Ballzy - Don't Tell Me What To Do
08. - Dead Boys - Sonic Reducer
09. - Black Flag - Nervous Breakdown