Skip to main content

New Prince album to be released in Autumn

Home studio-recording ‘Piano & A Microphone 1983’ drops in September...

A previously unreleased Prince album ‘Piano & A Microphone 1983’ is set for release later this year, it’s been announced.

Recorded by the late icon at his Chanhassen home studio in (you guessed it) 1983, the record will be released by Warner Bros. Records and has been given the blessing of his estate.

The album, which drops in September, features nine mainly piano-based tracks including a cover of Joni Mitchell’s ‘ A Case Of You’, plus early versions of ‘Purple Rain’, ‘17 Days’ and ‘Strange Relationship’.

The record also features a reworking of 19th century gospel favourite ‘Mary Don’t You Weep’, which is included on the soundtrack for Spike Lee’s forthcoming ‘BlacKkKlansman’ — out 24th August.

In a statement, the Prince Estate’s entertainment adviser Troy Carter said: “This raw, intimate recording, which took place at the start of Prince’s career right before he achieved international stardom, is similar in format to the ‘Piano & A Microphone’ Tour that he ended his career with in 2016.”

He added: “The Estate is excited to be able to give fans a glimpse of his evolution and show how his career ultimately came full circle with just him and his piano.”

‘Piano & A Microphone 1983’ tracklist:

1. 17 Days
2. Purple Rain
3. A Case Of You
4. Mary Don’t You Weep
5. Strange Relationship
6. International Lover
7. Wednesday
8. Cold Coffee & Cocaine
9. Why The Butterflies