Skip to main content


Samurai Music to host UK launch party for 'Presence'

Toyko Prose, protégé to Samurai Music head honcho DJ Presha, has announced his debut album 'Presence', to be released through his home label's Samurai Red Seal imprint.
Out August 4th, 'Presence' showcases both the solo and collaborative talents of the New Zealander, with a tracklist that features some of today's top drum & bass talent, including Lenzman, Synkro, DRS and Riya.

The full 'Presence' tracklisting is as follows:
1. '16 Bar Cycles' (with Christoph el Truento)
2. 'Won’t Let Me Go' (with Lenzman & Fox)
3. 'Small Gains'
4. 'Ventura'
5. 'Kidman' (with Zoë Klinck) 
6. 'Common Ground' (with Synkro) 
7. 'Sunsets' (with LSB & DRS) 
8. 'Fragmented You' (with Milton) 
9. 'Covet' 
10. 'Waiting On' (with Riya) 
11. 'All Things' 
12. 'See Through Love' 
13. 'Dance With You'

To celebrate this huge milestone in Toyko Prose's career, Samurai Music are hosting their first ever solo UK event tomorrow night (June 20th) at Plan B, Brixton, London. The 'Presence' launch party boasts an all-star line-up, with Calibre, Synkro, Presha, Clarity, LSB and Kiyoko all supporting the man of the hour.

Check out launch party exclusive 'My Soul' below:

Or grab your ticket here 

Since signing to Samurai Music as a duo back in 2008, Tokyo Prose has become a name synonymous with elegant, soulful drum & bass. Taking on the moniker as a solo effort, Sam Reed has secured releases on all three of the Samurai Music Group labels, along with Hospital Records and Sun & Bass Recordings.

Presha's Samurai Music Group has been a pioneering force in not only New Zealand's drum & bass scene, but the global underground community. Across three imprints, the roster reads like a who's who of internationally celebrated artists such as S.P.Y., Calibre, Cern, Zero T, Klute and Gremlinz.

Words: Ben Hindle