Skip to main content

Premiere: Lauren Flax, Jason Burns, Peter Sheppard ‘Dada Entry’

NYC underground hero Lauren Flax serves up a helping of Detroit-infused acid house with help from the Portland underground

Photo of Lauren Flax wearing a ripped black jumper in front of a purple background
Danny Roche

Lauren Flax, Jason Burns, and Peter Sheppard have teamed up for a new single, ‘Dada Entry’, via Moveltraxx. Listen to the track below.

Having spent over 25 years moving bodies on Brooklyn and Detroit’s dancefloors, Lauren Flax is no stranger to a bit of acid house magic. Her newest outing (set for release 16th June) finds her calling on Portland-based DJs and party throwers, Jason Burns and Peter Sheppard, for a six-minute spell of unsparing Detroit electro, acidic grooves, and brisk breakbeat rhythms.

The release marks Flax’s return to Moveltraxx after her stellar remix of Big Dope P & DJ Slugo’s ‘Work Move Shake’ on the London-via-Paris imprint last year. It’s also the NYC-based DJ’s first single since being named Underground Hero at DJ Mag’s Best of North America awards in 2022, followed shortly by a career-spanning cover interview.

The cut calls on the expertise of Oregon’s Jason Burns, whose trademark fusion of garage, house, disco, and bass has earned him releases on prestigious labels such as Symbols, Big Beat, Toolroom, RAM Records, and Nervous. Also blessing the track is fellow Portland mainstay, Peter Sheppard, who has been honing his own house chops this year warming up for the likes of Crazy P and Mike Dunn.

After mixing and throwing parties together for multiple years, Burns and Sheppard joined forces in 2021 to form Portland-based events brand, Hold Music. Their 2023 programme will boast sets from US heavyweights including Conducta, Wahjeed, and Analog Soul. Lauren Flax is also teeing up for a lively summer working on her much-anticipated debut album.

Revisit Lauren Flax’s set at DJ Mag’s Alternative #Top100DJs virtual festival here.

You can listen to ‘Dada Entry’ below, ahead of its official release on 16th June.