Skip to main content

Premiere: Laughing Ears ‘Black Swan’

CHINABOT celebrates four years with a compilation of experimental electronics from across Asia. Hear Shanghai’s Laughing Ears’ ‘Black Swan’ now

London label CHINABOT celebrates its fourth anniversary this month with the release of ‘Tetra Hysteria Manifesto’, a 14-track compilation of experimental electronic music by artists from across Asia. 

CHINABOT, which launched in 2017 as a platform “to change the dialogue surrounding Asian music”, shines a light on label affiliates and newcomers alike across these tracks, which encompass abstract and ambient sounds, disjointed club music and hyper colourful rhythm experiments. Featured artists include Jaeho Hwang, Seaketa, Pisitakun, King Rambo Sound and Jaeho Hwang.

Having made her solo debut on CHINABOT last year with the ‘Metamorphosis 形变’ EP last year, Shanghai’s Laughing Ears returns to the label with her contribution to the comp, ‘Black Swan’. Like her previous EP, and her second LP, ‘Blood’, which was released earlier this year, ‘Black Swan’ is a high-def fusion of ethereal and eerie electronics and propulsive club rhythms. Check it out below. 

‘Tetra Hysteria Manifesto’ will be released on 23rd July. You can pre-order it via CHINABOT's Bandcamp