Disco - Single Reviews - 587 | DJMag.com Skip to main content

Singles - Disco - Issue 587

Garage Class

Terminal Tokyo (inc. JD Twitch edit)

Outer Reaches

From its online music and culture division (and now record label), Ransom Note has scored aces with releases by Bawrut, Smagghe & Cross, and even reissued classics by the late, great proto house pioneer Boyd Jarvis. Now, with its brand-new sub label, Outer Reaches, it focuses on this ‘83 punk/power-pop reissue from UK DIY crew Terminal Tokyo. In addition, Optimo’s JD Twitch updates this obscure gem into a woofer-wrecking (check that wobbly bassline), pneumatic disco tool that will cause some serious damage in the discotheque. Essential.


'Another You EP'

Ed Banger

Unstoppable French disco machine Breakbot returns with more effortlessly cool modern disco tracks, tastefully executed and remixed. It's hard to avoid the Chic and Daft Punk comparisons, though Breakbot does deliver an EP that’ll chime throughout clubland, no doubt right until the end of what we have left of 2018. The release is bolstered by the charmingly titled ‘Dildo Disco Mix’ and a Yuksek remix of the gospel-tinged ‘Devotion’. Huge crossover potential here, and yet Breakbot remains well in control of the reins of good taste. Strong.

The Cyclist

'Boards Of Chicago EP'

Tropical Animals

The Cyclist’s ‘outsider’ approach to club music has caught the attention of all the right labels since his solo mission began some seven years ago. The likes of 100% Silk, Leaving / Stones Throw Records and All City have all had a claim to the lysergic twist on house and disco-not-disco music that Andrew Morrison dreams up. His latest for Ricardo Baez’s Florence-based Tropical Animals label offers up even more of that brilliant, alien, proto house music and lo-fi hippy drum machine traxx. Ace.

Mytron & Ofofo


Multi Culti

Paris/London-based duo Mytron & Ofofo join in the mirth at Multi Culti, with an EP of rootsy, tropical disco vibes and oddball, primitive-sounding machine funk. There’s something for most tastes, and the emphasis is on fun throughout. Tracks such as ‘Crickets: Archipelagian Impressions’ nod to the breezy, island disco sound, and elsewhere, there's the Persian melody of ‘Radio Yebeh’, the crawling dub skank of the title track, and the Emperor Machine style electro of ‘Talk Show'.

The Analog Session

'Early Morning Raga'

Hot Elephant Music

Functionally named Italian duo The Analog Session (made up of Italo disco hero Alexander Robotnick and regular collaborator Lapo Lombardi) release again on Robotnick’s own Hot Elephant imprint. Reaching out to the cream of Indian electronic music (to help tackle the audacious task of taking complex Indian raga music to the club), ‘Early Morning Raga’ features techy disco remixes from newcomer Diatonik, Fear Of Flying’s Pawas Gupta and New Delhi local Hamza Rahimtula.

Various Artists



Robbi ‘Headman’ Insinna’s Relish drops a three-track EP with new material from the man himself, working the urgent new wave rhythms behind The Mansisters' ‘Tex Control’. Alongside this is Teniente Castillo & Mufti’s woozy ‘A Bit Of Sickness’, but trumping both is a tense, spacey ride from the excellent Fabrizio Mammarella. Currently hammered by Andrew Weatherall and Sean Johnston at A Love From Outer Space, plus DJs such as Chloé and Curses. Strong release.

Jacques Renault

'Tape Cuts & Cut-Outs'

Let's Play House

Outtakes from his ‘BK Club Beats, Breaks & Versions’ album of last summer, collected together on this 12” issue. Expect classic disco and soul hooks processed through the box and delivered in mixtape style: another tidy release from the Let's Play House boss.




Page regular Duro releases this bumper pack of new wave and mutant disco music from Mexican producer Mijo. Similar to peers such as the hugely talented Lokier, Rebolledo and Comeme’s Daniel Maloso, Mijo has a knack of creating lean, pulsating disco tracks with fiery Latin energy and a ‘punk’ delivery. ‘THXTASY’ is the latest direct transmission, backed with a host of remixes from the Mexican underground.

Dawn Again & Rothmans

'Timeless Odyssey'

Wonder Stories

The latest release on Wonder Stories sees an Aussie/UK co-production from label regular Dawn Again and local talent Rothmans. At the weightier end of the nu-disco sound, the pair lay down two dubwise instrumentals with a polished, melodic sheen: ideal source material to get the roughed up, minimal wave treatment from Crimes Of The Future’s Timothy J. Fairplay, who scrambles the title tune with fluorescent, Legowelt style synth patches. To accompany, Vivod/World Unknown’s Emile Strunz offers a propulsive, deep techno fix of the more tropical ‘Rainbow Perch’.