Skip to main content

Armin van Buuren releases long-awaited new album under elusive GAIA alias

The collaborative album with Benno de Goeij has been a long time coming…

Trance figureheads Armin van Buuren and Benno de Goeij have finally released their long anticipated debut album as GAIA.

Having released numerous beloved singles in the past including 'Tuvan', 'Stellar' and 'Empire of Hearts', an LP has long been promised but was only officially announced last week on Armin’s A State Of Trance radio show.

The album, titled ‘Moons of Jupiter’, features 21 tracks, each named after one of Jupiter’s moons – apt enough.

It’s a versatile enough collection, as Armin has explained, swerving “from ambient, chill out, melodic techno to trance".

“Throughout the years, we created a variety of synths, beats and loops that were more underground and not always useable for my sound and genre,” van Buuren added in an official announcement. “We always had so much fun exploring different genres and charting different loops and sounds that we felt it was time to combine this under the name GAIA.”

You can listen to the album in full below. There will also be a limited vinyl run coming soon.

It was announced earlier this week that Armin Van Buuren and Above & Beyond would play a one-off show at Ushuaïa Ibiza this summer.