Skip to main content

The Avalanches share new track with Blood Orange, ‘We Will Always Love You’: Listen

It's their first new music since 2016's comeback album, 'Wildflower'

The Avalanches have unveiled a new track with Blood Orange, AKA Dev Hynes.

Titled 'We Will Always Love You', it's the group's first new track to emerge since the release of their 2016 comeback album, 'Wildflower'. Teasing the new track yesterday, the band telegraphed the song title in morse code on the top of the Capitol Tower.

In a statement, the band said: "Sometimes we receive a message. Telling us our music has been there; through dark times, loneliness, loss. There are no words to express how moving or profound this connection with you is. Because the music was born out of such moments itself, and so it is felt, by those with open hearts, on the same wavelength it was first created. Morse Code beamed and received by hearts and hearts alike.

"Our new record is about such journeys, from darkness to light. About life after (all kinds of) death. About the transcendent nature of music itself. Every voice ever played on the radio over the last 100 years now exists in the stars; the transmissions of these singers are forever floating around out there, lost in the cosmos, endless travelling. Tonight Smokey Robinson duets with Dev Hynes and the Roches. Those spirits are out there. We are each a tune, floating in space. And this one’s for you."

You can listen to the track below.

Most recently, The Avalanches remixed The Chemical Brothers' 1999 track 'Out Of Control' for a 20th anniversary edition of the duo's album 'Surrender'.

In 2017, they revealed that they had begun work on a new album following the release of 2016's 'Wildflower'. That album is expected to drop later this year.