Skip to main content
Amy Fielding
1 June 2022, 12:23

Chippy Nonstop, Ewan McVicar, Nia Archives, more locked for BBC Radio 1 residencies

Anfisa Letyago, Leon Vynehall and Dan Shake have also been announced

BBC Radio 1 residents

The new residents for BBC Radio 1 have been announced.

BBC Radio 1 has revealed the six new residents joining the radio station: Anfisa Letyago, Ayrshire's Ewan McVicar and Leon Vynehall, as well as London-based DJ and producer Nia Archives, Toronto artist Chippy Nonstop, and Dan Shake.

Throughout the month of June, Anfisa Letyago and Ewan McVicar will takeover the residency slots, with Leon Vynehall and Nia Archives scheduled for July, and August spotlighting Dan Shake and Chippy Nonstop.

Speaking about the residency, McVicar said: “It’s surreal that I’m going to be doing Radio 1’s Residency – this is definitely bucket list material. I used to sit in my car in Ayr and listen to Annie Mac every weekend. This really is a dream come true.”

Chippy Nonstop added: “I am so excited and grateful to be given the opportunity to present a radio residency on Radio 1. I want to show listeners the different dimensions of dance music and how different diasporas, traditions and upbringings can create the most beautiful and unexpected stories.”

The new residency roster will kick off on Thursday 2nd June with at 11PM GMT with an hour of power from Anfisa Letyago, before a tribute to Glasgow's Sub Club from McVicar at midnight. You can listen to the shows here.