Skip to main content


Kano, Anohni and more also make the cut...

The full list of nominees for the Mercury Prize 2016 has been announced, with the winner of the 25th year of the award announced at its ceremony on Thursday 15th September.

The two biggest names on the list are Radiohead, who have been nominated for ‘A Moon Shaped Pool’, and David Bowie, who gets a posthumous nod for ‘Blackstar’, the last album before his death in January.

Grime is represented by Skepta, who made the cut with his fourth studio album ‘Konnichiwa’, as well as Kano for ‘Made In The Manor’, his highest charting album since 2007’s ‘London Town’.

The panel for the September ceremony will include Annie Mac, Jarvis Cocker, Naughty Boy, Big Dada and Kate Tempest.

You can see the full list of nominees for the Mercury Prize below and watch Róisín Murphy’s performance from the 2015 ceremony underneath that:

Anohni ‘Hopelessness’
Bat For Lashes ‘The Bride’
David Bowie ‘Blackstar’
Jamie Woon ‘Making Time’
Kano ‘Made in the Manor’
Laura Mvula ‘The Dreaming Room’
Michael Kiwanuka ‘Love & Hate’
Radiohead ‘A Moon Shaped Pool’
Savages ‘Adore Life’
Skepta ‘Konnichiwa’
The 1975 ‘I like it when you sleep, for you are so beautiful yet so unaware of it’
The Comet Is Coming ‘Channel the Spirits’

Rob McCallum is DJ Mag’s deputy digital editor. Follow him on Twitter here.