Skip to main content

Everything But The Girl share new single, ‘Caution To The Wind’: Listen

It's the second single to be taken from the duo's first album in 24 years, 'Fuse'

Everything But The Girl share new single, ‘Caution To The Wind’: Listen
Credit: Edward Bishop

Everything But The Girl have dropped a new single, 'Caution To The Wind'. Watch its new lyric video below.

The release of the track comes a month after the English experimental pop duo confirmed their first album in 24 years, 'Fuse'. Comprising musicians and married couple Tracey Thorn and Ben Watt, they initially revealed their reunion back in November last year.

The long-awaited follow-up to 1999's 'Temperamental,' 'Fuse' is released via Buzzin' Fly Records on 21st April. 'Caution To The Wind' is the follow-up to the duo's comeback single, 'Nothing Left To Lose,' which accompanied the official album announcement last month.

Speaking about the single, Tracey Thorn said: "Lyrically, it is a simple song about arrival and seizing the moment, so with the music we tried to capture the feeling of a perpetual point in time."

"I let the words quickly collapse and loop inside the production," added Ben. "The drums emerge and repeat, and everything then starts to unfold in cycles of anticipation and release. I guess it's just classic nightclub tension and euphoria."

Speaking about their return to studio collaboration, Thorn said: “Ironically the finished sound of the new album was the last thing on our mind when we started in March 2021. Of course, we were aware of the pressures of such a long-awaited comeback, so we tried to begin instead in a spirit of open-minded playfulness, uncertain of the direction, receptive to invention”.

Formed in in 1982, Everything But The Girl had top 10 UK chart success with their hit song 'Missing' in 1995, which was remixed into a cult dance classic by Todd Terry. The duo were also nominated for MTV, EMA and Ivor Novello Awards.