Skip to main content

Exos drops brooding techno on ‘Hverfult’: Premiere

Taken from the inaugural release on his X/OZ imprint, the ‘Invisible Limits Vol. 1’...

Exos launches his X/OZ label later this week (20th June), with six-track EP,  ‘Invisible Limits Vol. 1’. We’ve got the exclusive premiere of Exos’ ‘Hverfult’ from it below.

As one of the longest-running techno artists from Iceland, Exos has been releasing music for 20 years for labels including Thule Records, Bliq and Slow To Speak.

In 2015 he was signed up to Nina Kraviz’ трип Recordings, collaborating with the label boss for their cut, ‘No Criminals’.

On the ‘Invisible Limits Vol. 1’ EP, Exos launches his new X/OZ imprint with music from himself, as well as Gurk, Soschla, Octal and Ruxpin.

Speaking about ‘Hverfult’, Exos told DJ Mag, “So this track has three different elements. The past, present and future.

“‘Hverfult’ describes my musical aspects from there to now. It has my old signature sound from the E-mu ESI-4000 and the Nord Modular, mixed with software synths from Ableton.”

Listen to exclusive premiere of Exos’ ‘Hverfult’ from ‘Invisible Limits Vol. 1’ below, and check out the EP’s full tracklist underneath the stream.

‘Invisible Limits Vol. 1’ tracklist:

A1 Exos ‘Hverfult’
A2 Gurk ‘Gurk’
A3 Soschla ‘Nchts 3’
B1 Exos ‘Hnjask’
B2 Octal ‘Spaff (Octal Industries Remix)’
B3 Ruxpin, Exos & Octal ‘Kurltilgrafar’

Rob McCallum is DJ Mag’s deputy digital editor. Follow him on Twitter here.