Skip to main content

Four Tet protests Muslim ban with playlist of songs from affected countries

He says working with Syrian musician Omar Souleyman on his 2013 album ‘Wenu Wenu’ inspired him…

Four Tet has added a selection of music by artists affected by Donald Trump’s anti-immigration ban to his already expansive Spotify playlist in protest over the President’s order. You can listen to the additions below.

Trump’s anti-immigration ban closes US borders to refugees and immigrants from seven majority Muslim countries, blocking entry to the US for citizens of Iran, Iraq, Syria, Yemen, Sudan and Libya for 90 days as well as suspending admission to Syrian refugees.

Four Tet, real name Kieran Hebden, shared on Twitter that his experience of producing Syrian musician Omar Souleyman’s 2013 album ‘Wenu Wenu’ inspired him to put the playlist together.

The 10 tracks feature the title track from Souleyman’s Hebden produced album, as well as Folkways Records artists including Rahim AlHaj, Abdullah Kershi and Ahmed Sherif.

Hebden also warned that not enough is being done to save London nightlife in an interview about how the UK capital’s nightlife is in jeopardy earlier this month (January).

Listen to Hebden’s music from countries affected by Trump’s anti-immigration ban below.

Rob McCallum is DJ Mag’s deputy digital editor. Follow him on Twitter here.