Skip to main content

Mercury Music Prize 2019 album of the year shortlist announced

Black Midi, Slowthai and Idles are all in the running

The shortlist of albums for this year's prestigious Mercury music prize album has been revealed.

The winner of the Mercury prize, now in its 28th year, will be decided by a panel of five new judges.

Radio 1 regular Annie Mac will join the panel for 2019's award, alongside Jorja Smith, Stormzy and former Supergrass member Gaz Coombes. Vice's UK editorial director and Guardian contributor Tshepo Mokoena will also judge the nominees this year.

Among the albums announced are grime artist Slowthai's morbid ode to a crumbling society, 'Nothing Great About Britian', and Dave's acclaimed 'Psychodrama', released in March this year.

Also nominated are experimental rock band Black Midi, for album 'Schlagenheim', Idles with 'Joy As an Act Of Resistance', and The 1975's third studio album, 'A Brief Inquiry into Online Relationships'.

Albums by British and Irish artists, with a UK release date between the 21st July 2018 to the 19th July 2019, were eligible to win the Mercury prize, which will be awarded on the 19th September.

Previous years have seen Arctic Monkeys, Dizzee Rascal, Skepta and The xx scoop the award.

See the full list of nominees here.

Black Midi will perform at The Warehouse Project's Autumn/Winter season.