Skip to main content

Moby announces new album, shares album's first single

The album will be out 2nd March 2018...

Moby has announced that his 15th studio album, dubbed 'Everything Was Beautiful, And Nothing Hurt', will be released on 2nd March 2018.

Alongside the album announcement, the enigmatic Moby has shared the first single to be taken from the album.

Featuring LA-based soulstress Raquel Rodriguez, 'Like a Motherless Child' is a re-work of the well-known song with its origins in the slavery of the American South.

Over the years, the song has been reinterpreted by the likes of Odetta, Lena Horne, Mahalia Jackson, Laura Mvula and Van Morrison.

The track describes the void left when one feels separated from a parent, higher power or similar guiding force.

The album is described as a "glowing tapestry exploring spirituality, individuality and the brokenness of humanity and finds him returning to his orchestral, soul, trip-hop and gospel roots".

Moby has curated a playlist of artists that influenced the recording of 'Everything Was Beautiful, And Nothing Hurt'.

This playlist, which you can access on both Spotify and YouTube, will be the first place fans can hear new music from Moby. You can listen to the playlist here.

The album will be released on 2nd March 2018 via his own imprint Little Idiot.

Check out the video for 'Like A Motherless Child' below.