Skip to main content

Nyege Nyege Tapes announces debut collection from De Schuurman, 'Bubbling Inside'

Sub-label Hakuna Kulala is also launching a white-label vinyl series

Nyege Nyege Tapes has announced the release of the debut album from Den Haag-based producer De Schuurman.

'Bubbling Inside' is named after the bubbling genre that came out of Den Haag's Club Voltage in the late '80s after, a press release explains, Curacao's DJ Moortje "accidentally dropped a dancehall track at 45RPM rather than 33, and let it play out".

De Schuurman produced most of the tracks that make up 'Bubbling Inside' between 2007 and 2009, though some newer tracks also feature. His tracks fuse trap percussion, dubstep, Dutch electro house and more.

You can watch a video for lead track 'Nu Ga Je Dansen', ahead of the album's full release on July 2nd, below. You'll be able to buy the release via Nyege Nyege Tapes' Bandcamp

Nyege Nyege Tapes' sub-label Hakuna Kulala has also revealed details of a new white-label vinyl series, which will launch on August 27th. It will kick off with a first-time vinyl release for Durban producer Menzi's 'Impazamo' EP, which originally came out digitally in April 2020. 

On the same day, the white-label series will add a six-track EP from Kampala-based producer OYISSE, called 'Elembo'.

Hakuna Kulala also released an album by Don Zilla, 'Ekizikiza Mubwengula', earlier this month.