Skip to main content

Orbital soundtrack new Netflix series starring Mike Myers, The Pentaverate

The show — about a secret society formed during the Great Plague — will stream from 5th May 

Orbital soundtrack new Netflix series starring Mike Myers, The Pentaverate

Orbital have scored a new Netflix series, 'The Pentaverate', starring Mike Myers. 

The series will hit the streaming service from 5th May, and also features Jeremy Irons as narrator, Ken Jeong, Richard McCabe and Lydia West. English comedy icon Jennifer Saunders plays two roles, while Myers takes on no less than eight characters.

The show's plot centres on a secret society of five men, the titular Pentaverate, who have been influencing world events since the most fatal pandemic in history, the European Plague, broke out in 1346. 

Orbital confirmed their involvement with the project yesterday (16th March), describing their score as "some of their best work ever!" You can check out the trailer for the show below 

The electronic duo of Phil and Paul Hartnoll began performing together as Orbital in 1989, and helped shape the sound of UK dance and electronic music throughout the 1990s. They originally disbanded in 2004 before subsequently reuniting in 2009, and again from 2017, releasing their latest record, 'Monsters Exist', to critical acclaim two years later. Tracks such as 'Belfast', 'Chime', and 'Satan' are broadly considered to be some of the most iconic UK electronic tracks of all time. Recently, these tracks have been remixed by artists including ANNA, Eli Brown, Shanti Celeste and Dusky

Read a feature on how Orbital’s exploratory 1991 debut album re-wrote the rule book for rave here.