Skip to main content

Outkast have been nominated for the 2020 Songwriters Hall of Fame

They're up against the likes of The Neptunes and R.E.M.

Outkast have been nominated for the 2020 Songwriters Hall of Fame.

The Atlanta hip-hop duo, who formed in 1992 and comprises of members André 3000 and Big Boi, have received six grammy nominations, sold over 25 million records, and are now in the running for the coveted Songwriters Hall award. 

24 acts are in the shortlist for the 2020 award, including Chad Hugo and Pharrell Williams' The Neptunes, who wrote music for Beyoncé, Jay-Z, and Usher, as well as R.E.M and Mariah Carey, who had her first Songwriters Hall nomination last year. Also up for the award are former Eurythmics members Annie Lennox and Dave Stewart, alongside Journey, Gloria Estefan, and Patti Smith.

There are also solo, non-performing nominees, including William “Mickey” Stevenson, Rick Nowels, and Sonny Curtis, as well as non-performing songwriting duos including the late Tommy Boyce and Bobby Hart, Lynn Ahrens and Stephen Flaherty, and L. Russell Brown and the late Irwin Levine.

The winner/s will be announced at The Songwriters Hall of Fame 51st Annual Induction & Awards Gala on the 11th June 2020 in New York City. See the full list of nominees here.

Earlier this year, Spotify, Google, Amazon and Pandora launched an appeal to overturn an increase in songwriter royalties.

Chuck D, of hip-hop collective Public Enemy was awarded the Woody Guthrie Prize this year, an honour that is given to those who support people in the arts that don't have a platform.