Skip to main content

Radio 1 locks Charlotte de Witte, Marcel Dettmann, Jayda G, more as 2019 residents

Paul Woolford, Honey Dijon and HAAi are also on board...

BBC Radio 1 has announced a new lineup for its Residency show, with the likes of Charlotte de Witte, Marcel Dettmann and Paul Woolford all set to join the station between March and August of this year.

Also newly added to the Residency roster are Jayda G, HAAi and Honey Dijon. They all join Monki and Danny Bird, who will remain on rotation. The residency airs on Radio 1 on a Sunday night into Monday morning, incorporating two shows between 1AM and 3AM. HAAi was the winner of BBC Radio 1's Essential Mix of the Year in 2018. 

Previous residents include The Black Madonna, Eats Everything and Kölsch. 

"BBC Radio 1 has always showed me a lot of support since the beginning of my career, so I’m unbelievably proud to be part of the new BBC Radio 1 Residency team – it means the world to me," says Charlotte de Witte. I can’t wait to dig deep into the beautiful world of techno with you guys."

Paul Woolford said: "As a lifelong listener of Radio 1, I am beyond buzzing to join The Residency. I’m so excited to share my record collection and shine a light on the new generation of producers that are consistently blowing my mind."

The first shows, from Charlotte de Witte and Marcel Dettmann, will air on March 4th.

On a smaller scale, new independent radio station opened in Tottenham at the start of this year by the name of Threads Radio.