Skip to main content

Stardust’s Alan Braxe announces reissue of influential French house album, ‘The Upper Cuts’

It features Stardust's iconic 1998 single 'Music Sounds Better With You'


French house legend Alan Braxe has announced a reissue of his influential 2005 compilation album, ‘The Upper Cuts’.

Featuring tracks including Stardust's iconic single 'Music Sounds Better With You', which he wrote with vocalist Benjamin Diamond and Daft Punk's Thomas Bangalter – who recently announced his debut solo album – the newly-remastered version of the album will be released on streaming platforms for the first time via Smugger's Way on 31st March. It will also be available in black vinyl, limited-edition coloured vinyl, and CD.

As well as other influential tracks including 'Intro', 'In Love With You' and his remix of Shakedown's 'At Night, 'The Upper Cuts (2023 Edition)' will feature seven bonus tracks of rare and unreleased music by Braxe, including his remix of Britney Spears' 2001 single 'Anticipating', and a brand new track titled 'True Love'. Nine tracks on the album were written and produced with fellow French house producer, Fred Falke. 

Listen to remastered versions of three of the tracks on the compilation – 'In Love With You', 'Intro' and 'Rubicon' – below.

Check out the full tracklist for the release below and revisit DJ Mag's long read feature on how 'Music Sounds Better With You' inadvertently changed the face of house music.

Braxe has also just been announced to perform alongside DJ Falcon at Ed Banger Records’ twentieth-anniversary celebrations at Printworks in London on Friday, 3rd March. 

1. Alan Braxe & Fred Falke - Most Wanted
2. The Paradise - In Love With You
3. Stardust - Music Sounds Better With You
4. Alan Braxe & Fred Falke - Intro
5. Shakedown - At Night (Alan Braxe Remix)
6. Alan Braxe & Fred Falke - Love Lost
7. Alan Braxe & Fred Falke - Palladium
8. Alan Braxe & Fred Falke - Arena
9. Alan Braxe & Fred Falke - Rubicon
10. Alan Braxe & Fred Falke - Penthouse Serenade
11. Alan Braxe & Fred Falke - Chrystal City - Bonus Track
12. Alan Braxe - Voices (Remastered 2022) - Bonus Track
13. Britney Spears - Anticipating (Alan Braxe Remix) - Bonus Track
14. Alan Braxe - One More Chance (Feat. The Spimes) [Redux] - Bonus Track (new version)
15. Alan Braxe - True Love - Bonus Track (new song)
16. Alan Braxe - Never Coming Back (Feat. Annie) [12 “ Dub Version] - Bonus Track (new song)
17. Alan Braxe & Fred Falke - You'll Stay In My Heart (Instrumental) (Remastered 2022) - Bonus Track (never had an official release)