Skip to main content

These are the winners of DJ Mag's Best of British awards 2022

DJ Mag’s Best of British 2022 award winners have been announced

The DJ Mag Best of British Awards 2022 took place at The Steel Yard in London on 15th December

The winners of this year's annual DJ Mag Best of British awards have been announced. The event took place at London’s The Steel Yard tonight (15th December) hosted by Jamz Supernova.

In the 16th edition of the awards, TRICK label boss Patrick Topping picked up the prestigious Best DJ award, with Girls Don’t Sync taking home the title of Breakthrough DJ.

Fred Again.. won Best Live Act, while Manchester-based producer Interplanetary Criminal took home Best Producer, while upcoming jungle drum & bass star Nia Archives won Breakthrough Producer after a huge year.

In the rap categories, Lewisham grime royalty Novelist won Best MC/Vocalist, while Glasgow-based artist Bemz took home Breakthrough MC/Vocalist. Giggs and Tiny Boost won Best Rap Track for their collaboration, ‘The Family’, while Loyle Carner scooped Best Rap Album/Mixtape for ‘hugo’.

The long-running independent record label XL Recordings took home the Best Label award, while Shall Not Fade’s garage-focused sub label Time Is Now took home Breakthrough Label after a prolific year.

Elsewhere, there were wins for TSHA (‘Best Album’ for 'Capricorn Sun'), PinkPantheress (‘Best Compilation’ for 'to hell with it (remixes)'), Eliza Rose & Interplanetary Criminal (Best Track for their No.1 hit ‘B.O.T.A. (Baddest of Them All)’ and Michael Bibi (Best Remix for ‘La Murga (Michael's Midnight Mix)’).

NTS’ Soup To Nuts took home the Best Radio Show award; the popular daytime broadcast that is hosted by artists including Scratcha DVA, Anu, Lupini, John Gómez, Ruf Dug, Shy One and Ross Allen.

In the three editorial choice awards — chosen by DJ Mag’s editorial team to honour tracks, individuals and artists who have had a wide-reaching impact on electronic music culture — Double 99’s ‘Ripgroove’ took home the Game Changer award.

Jamal Edwards MBE was posthumously honoured with Innovation & Excellence for his impact on British music through his online media platform SBTV, while jungle drum & bass legend DJ Flight was given the award for Outstanding Contribution.

In the club and event awards, Printworks London won Best Large Club, while Best Small Club went to Hackney’s Night Tales. PXSSY PALACE took home Best Club Event, Outlook Festival UK won Best Festival and Sheffield’s No Bounds picked up Best Boutique Festival.

Garage legend Jeremy Sylvester won this year’s Underground Hero award, which recognises the champions of grassroots UK music communities.

The Best of British awards party at The Steel Yard marks the first physical event in our annual celebration of UK talent since 2019, after the 2020 and 2021 awards were held as a digital show due to the impact of the Covid-19 pandemic.

Keep an eye out for interviews with all the winners, which will be published next week, and see the full breakdown of awards below. 

Best DJ

Palms Trax
Patrick Topping - WINNER
Tiffany Calver

Breakthrough DJ

Fleur Shore
Girls Don't Sync - WINNER

Best Live Act

Fred again.. - WINNER
The Comet Is Coming

Best Producer

Congo Natty
Dance System
Interplanetary Criminal - WINNER
Loraine James

Breakthrough Producer

Meg Ward
Nia Archives - WINNER
Soul Mass Transit System

Best MC/Vocalist

MC Chickaboo
Ivorian Doll
Novelist - WINNER

Breakthrough MC/Vocalist

Chinx (OS)
Iceboy Violet
Jim Legxacy

Best Label

AD 93
Phantasy Sound
XL Recordings - WINNER

Breakthrough Label

All Centre
Pretty Weird
Sondela Recordings
Time Is Now [Shall Not Fade] - WINNER

Best Album

DJ Q 'Est. 2003' [Local Action]
Hagan 'Textures' [Python Syndicate]
Hudson Mohawke 'Cry Sugar' [Warp]
Kelly Lee Owens 'LP.8' [Smalltown Supersound]
TSHA 'Capricorn Sun' [Ninja Tune] - WINNER

Best Compilation

PinkPantheress 'to hell with it (Remixes)' [Parlophone] - WINNER
V/A ''Club Entry' Vol. 1' [Borne Fruits]
V/A 'Hospital Mixtape: Lens' [Hospital Records]
V/A 'Luke Una Presents É Soul Cultura' [Mr Bongo]
V/A 'Touching Bass presents: Soon Come' [Touching Bass]

Best Track

Eliza Rose & Interplanetary Criminal 'B.O.T.A. (Baddest Of Them All)' [Warner Records x One House] - WINNER
Hamdi 'Skanka' [DUPLOC]
Joy O 'pinky ring' [XL Recordings]
LF System 'Afraid To Feel' [Warner Music]
Nia Archives 'Baianá' [HIJINXX / Island]

Best Remix/Edit

KH 'Looking At Your Pager' [Ministry of Sound/Three Six Zero]
Michael Bibi 'La Murga (Michael's Midnight Mix)' [Solid Grooves] - WINNER
Nick León 'Xtasis feat. DJ Babatr (Pearson Sound Remix)' [TraTraTrax]
Tessela 'Hackney Parrot (Bailey's Techno Tool)'
Tirzah 'Tectonic (FAUZIA Remix)' [Domino]

Best Rap Album/Mixtape

CB 'A Drillers Perspective 2' [mayowahd]
FLOHIO 'Out Of Heart' [AWAL]
Horrid1 x Sav'O 'Violent Siblings' [CGM Records]
Jeshi 'Universal Credit' [Because Music]
Loyle Carner 'hugo' [EMI] - WINNER

Best Rap Track

Darkoo 'Always feat. Black Sherif' (Prod. by Mojam) [Atlantic Records UK]
Giggs x Tiny Boost 'The Family' (Prod. by RichMadeRecords) [Self-released] - WINNER
Kojey Radical feat. Lex Amor 'War Outside' (Prod. by Swindle & Kztheproducer) [Asylum Records UK]
LD x C1 'Hillside Demons' (Prod. by JS OTP & Hilzz) [24 Hour Ent]
Nemzzz '2MS' (Prod. by Wydsonni) [Motown Records UK / EMI]

Best Radio Show

Emma Jean Thackray, Worldwide FM
Ellie Prohan, KISS FM
Felix Joy Breakfast Show, SWU
Pure Spice with DJ Manara, BBC Asian Network
Soup To Nuts, NTS - WINNER

Best Large Club

Depot Mayfield, Manchester
fabric, London
KOKO, London
Printworks, London - WINNER
SWG3, Glasgow

Best Small Club

Colour Factory, London
Night Tales, London - WINNER
Strange Brew, Bristol
Sub Club, Glasgow
Ulster Sports Club, Belfast

Best Club Event

Club Blanco
Distant Planet
Small Talk

Best Festival

Houghton Festival
Naked City Festival
Otherlands Music & Arts Festival
Outlook Festival UK - WINNER
Queen's Yard Summer Party

Best Boutique Festival

Field Maneuvers
KALLIDA Festival
No Bounds Festival - WINNER
Watching Trees Festival

Underground Hero
Recognising the champions of grassroots music communities

Double O & Mantra
Jeremy Sylvester - WINNER
Lo Shea
Man Power
Sarah McBriar

Outstanding Contribution - DJ Flight

Innovation & Excellence - Jamal Edwards MBE

Game Changer - Double 99 'Ripgroove'