Skip to main content

Will Smith reveals he’s got 30 songs ready with Jazzy Jeff: LISTEN

Shame it's not still Summertime 

Will Smith has revealed he’s got 30 new songs ready with his long-standing musical collaborator, DJ Jazzy Jeff. 

The pair had planned on a world tour, which we reported on a little while ago, and played their first dates in 12 years at the UK's Livewire Festival and MTV Summerblast in Croatia. They have apparently also amassed a load of new material, with the first taster coming in the form of 'Get Lit', an EDM offering which has already received lacklustre reactions from press and public alike. 

The duo shot to fame via 1989's Grammy Award-winning 'Parents Just Don't Understand', released as Jazzy Jeff and The Fresh Prince. Ready Rock MC was also involved, but departed in 1990, around the same time as hit series, 'The Fresh Prince of Bel Air', debuted on US TV, and a year before the outfit's most successful track to date, 'Summertime'. At the time of writing, no details have been revealed as to plans for what to do with the tunes in question, but we've embedded the inaugural offering below, along with a sample of what they used to be about, just in case all that passed you by.