Skip to main content

New Matthew Dear album

Plus free track download

Having been progressively edging from deep house and adrenal techno into Bowie-esque pop and deadpan post-punk, Ghostly International man Matthew Dear seemed to find his spiritual home when he moved to New York from Detroit a few years ago.

Recorded in his home studio there, then mixed in Nicolas Vernhes' Rare Book Room studios in Brooklyn (where else?), probably over a soy latte or twelve, new album 'Beams' - out August 27 in the EU/UK and August 28 in North America - continues this thread which began in earnest on 2010's excellent 'Black City'.

You can get a taster of where he is with this stream of debut single 'My Fantasy', a dark, intertwined texture of melodies and vocal incantations soundtracking his lyrics playing on the paranoia of love, and download free track 'Crimewaves' which adds a summery lilt with '80s skanking synth lines. Album tracklist afterwards.

Matthew Dear - Crimewaves by ghostly


01. Her Fantasy 
02. Earthforms
03. Headcage
04. Fighting Is Futile
05. Up & Out 
06. Overtime 
07. Get The Rhyme Right
08. Ahead of Myself
09. Do The Right Thing
10. Shake Me
11. Temptation | |