Skip to main content

Four Tet veers from Ben Klock to Britney Spears in brand new Essential Mix

Tracks from Basement Jaxx, Bicep and Destiny’s Child in his first BBC Radio 1 Essential Mix since 2010...

Four Tet stepped up for his first BBC Radio 1 Essential Mix since 2010 this weekend and, boy oh boy, is it a treat.

As well as lifting a number of tracks from last year’s sensational ‘New Energy’ LP the inimitable DJ/Producer – real name Kieran Hebden – dropped some unreleased material including a collab with Joy Orbison, the mysterious track found on his vast Spotify playlist last week and his breathtaking recent remix of Bicep’s ‘Opal’. There’s also a new track in there called ‘Sway’ in there and the marvellous Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith’s remix of ‘Planet’.

Not only that, he dropped tracks from Stephen Brown, Ben Klock, Basement Jaxx and Boo Williams. He also showcased his love for some of the best pop music of the past two decades in the form of Destiny’s Child’s ‘Lose My Breath’, Selena Gomez ‘Bad Liar’ and Britney Spears’ ‘Slumber Party’. Also featured is an unreleased track from ambient sound designers Visible Cloaks and a collaboration from synthesist Todd Barton and the late novelist Ursula K. Le Guin.

As versatile and vibrant as you would expect any Four Tet mix to be, this Essential Mix is a venture into one of the world’s most important electronic artists’ eclectic taste and technical prowess. Dig in.

Four Tet will be joining the massive line-up at Field Day this summer.

Feast your ears on the two-hour mix here