Tech House - Single Reviews - 595 | Skip to main content

Singles - Tech House - Issue 595

Diego Krause

Bring The Noise

Unison Wax

This one blasts straight out of the heads-down end of the tech-house spectrum from Berlin’s Diego Krause, who delivers an essential four-track masterpiece on his own vinyl-only Unison Wax. 'Bring The Noise' sets the tone — it's punchy, swung and vibey — while pumping off-kilter cut ‘The Company You Keep’ steals the show. The balance comes from A2 and B2 rollers: the atmospheric ‘Phenomena’ and textured ‘Lost Tribe’. A superb EP to see you through the summer months.

DEMOU & Pete Gooding

'18 Months Later EP'

Under No Illusion

Disco-tinged big roomer ‘18 Months Later’ fixates on an infectious, low-riding two-bar loop and beefy low-end. By nature of the track’s style, Junior Sanchez is one of a small handful of perfect remixers, and has clearly not lost an ounce of what got him to the top of the pack during the US house heyday. His remix adds energy, with a devastatingly funky arrangement. On the flip, the duo follow up with an upfront tech-house roller in ‘Any Ideas’. What a package!


'Coco Mama EP'

Incorrect Music

Pirupa delivers the most upfront, nu-skool sound this month on Chicago’s Incorrect Music: a double A-side of original cuts, plus a remix from Tim Baresko. It’s been a busy year for the NONSTOP owner, having graced ElRow Music, Glasgow Underground, Rebellion and Solotoko to name a few. With the trendy tribal chant tech-house of lead track ‘Coco Mama’, the catchy peak-time fun of ‘Fire’ and Tim Baresko’s rolling steamer of a remix, you’ve got a very tidy package.

Junior Pappa

'Let's Go EP'

Voyeur Music

The broad-stroking house and techno label Voyeur sees label affiliate Junior Pappa return with a belting EP, comprised of three lively originals and a Juanito remix. The Thessaloniki-based producer delivers three shades of upfront tech-house that’ll delight the most feverish fans. Barcelona’s Juanito gives his ‘Shake It’ remix some very welcome low-to-mid frequency bounce. An essential bag (USB stick) pick.

Art Department

'Shame EP'

Cuttin’ Headz

The iconic Art Department, aka Jonny White, furnishes one of the scene's foremost imprints right now with double trouble by way of the bold, peak-time ‘Shame EP’. Sounding like a tech-house version of Paranoid London’s ‘Dub 1’, lead track ‘Shame’ delivers a rock solid and punching drum loop, an infectious b-line and a high-flying vocal sample. Devilishly good. The flip, ‘Fixation’, retains the energy, with a pummelling bassline groove, fx and a freaky crunched, one-line vocal.


'Slow Burning (Latrec Remix)'

Not An Animal

Latrec’s melodic, thick-set remix of Komodo’s ‘Slow Burning’ is the pick of a brilliant Balearic acid-tinged EP, ‘Running Into The Sun’. It retains much of the sun-drenched feel of the original, but with propulsive and hypnotic, warped 808 drum programming. This one’s a twisted party starter.


'Æ Way EP'

Kwench Records

The Jaeger Club resident and regular on labels Bogota and Cymasonic drops a cool three-track package to mark his solo, original debut on Cassy’s ascending house label, following on from his inclusion on the label VA last year. Opener ‘Dyp Peder’ is off-kilter house that’s deep, percussive and weighty. ‘Smooth Layla’ emits more percussive flair with a trippy, locked groove. The EP closes with the more refined, linear club pumper, ‘The House Way’. Cassy’s a big fan. Nuff said.