Skip to main content

99 techno artists contribute to compilation in aid of Colombian social justice movement

Marcel Dettmann, DJ Nobu, DJ Rush, Dasha Rush, Sunil Sharpe and more have contributed tracks to the release

A number of techno's biggest names have contributed new and unreleased tracks to a new compilation from Planet X which aims to spread awareness about police brutality and violence during Colombia's anti-corruption movement.

Out today (June 3rd), 'PX099: 100 Years Of Colombia' takes in 99 tracks in total, and includes cuts from the likes of Marcel Dettmann, DJ Nobu, DJ Rush, Dasha Rush, Sunil Sharpe, Ben Sims, Lady Starlight and Planet X label boss Exos.

The project was born, a press release explains, with a desire "to draw attention to the ongoing violence being inflicted on peaceful, anti-corruption protestors by the state".

Colombians have been protesting across the country since April, taking aim at increased taxes, police violence, poverty and a weak health care system. The protests, however, have led to, as Planet X says, "documented disappearances of hundreds of people, killings of civilians by police forces, sexual assaults made by members of the police, and thousands of injured victim." The label points to a Colombian organisation called Temblores ONG as one of those working to spread awareness and help those suffering at the hands of the state.

To support protestors, Planet X is donating all the proceeds from sales of 'PX099: 100 Years Of Colombia' to groups in Colomba that are working within human rights and justice for victims of sexual abuse, as well as to arts initiatives in conflict areas. Among these organisations are Colpaz, Desaparición Forzada, Movice, La Red Jurídica Feminista and Fundación Escuela Canalón.

You can purchase the compilation, and check the full tracklist, here.