Skip to main content

Coby Sey announces debut album, 'Conduit', on AD 93

Hear the first single from the album, 'Permeated Secrets', now

Coby Sey announces debut album, 'Conduit', on AD 93

Coby Sey is set to release his debut album through AD 93.

Titled 'Conduit', the eight-track record marks his second appearance on the label, following a 2017 EP released when AD 93 was still known as Whities. In addition to his vocals, Coby Sey plays multiple instruments on the record, while there are also credits for Ben Vince (tenor saxophone, loops), Raisa Mariam Khan (electronic percussion), CJ Calderwood (alto saxophone) and Biu Rainey (electric guitar).

In a statement about the record, Sey said: "'Conduit' is a statement of intent, reaffirming my dedication to transcend the tangible through music. It's my way to continue and contribute to the musical lineage laid by those before me, locally and worldwide."

AD 93 will release the album on 9th September. You can listen to the lead track, 'Permeated Secrets', below.

The announcement of 'Conduit' follows on from Sey's recent work with Tirzah and Mica Levi, including on the former's single 'Ribs'.

Revisit Sey's December 2021 contribution to our Selections feature series here.

Photo credit: Ksenia Burnasheva