Skip to main content

Helena Hauff drops two hours of techno and electro on her debut Essential Mix

DJ Mag’s February cover star spun material from Adam Beyer, DJ Stingray, The Advent and many more...

Helena Hauff took control of the BBC Radio 1 Essential mix over the weekend. You can listen to her recording below.

It's the first time the Hamburg-based DJ/producer has crafted a slot for the Essential Mix, and the German selector played 34 tracks across two hours of techno and electro.

The mix includes material from Adam Beyer, DJ Stingray, The Advent, Drexciya, Jensen Interceptor, The Horrorist and many more. You can see the full tracklist below.

Hauff’s Essential Mix follows those from Tube & Berger, My Nu Leng and Adriatique, who all manned controls of the Radio 1 series in February.

Alongside the Essential Mix, Helena is set to play at multiple festivals throughout the European summer, including Gottwood in the UK, Dekmantel in Holland, and Into The Valley in Estonia. 

Hauff also hit the cover of DJ Mag this month to talk analogue kit, acid classics and what to do if your studio catches on fire.

Listen to her debut BBC Radio 1 Essential Mix here.


1. Obergman ‘Rosetta’
2. Jensen Interceptor ‘Mactavis’
3. Urbanjedi ‘Journey To Jupiter’
4. Sync 24 & Silicon Sally ‘Clickjacking (Vōx Edit)’
5. Transparent Sound ‘No Call From New York (Original Acid Remix)’
6. Fallbeil ‘Kontrolled Madness’
7. w1b0 ‘Utopia Planitia’
8. Sem ‘Hybrid’
9. A Credible Eye Witness ‘Episode 6’
10. The Exaltics ‘The Crash’
11. Dynarec ‘Moving Corridors’
12. DMX Krew ‘X-ray’
13. Drexciya ‘Unknown Journey IV’
14. Drexciya ‘Black Sea (Aqualung Version)’
15. Dynarec ‘Capital Sins’
16. The Hacker ‘At Night’
17. BS1 ‘The Only Exit’
18. Cosmic Force ‘Bass Drum Kix’
19. Aux 88 ‘Interface’
20. Dark Vektor ‘Vektorial’
21. Das Muster ft. Nincho9000 ‘Fern Und Nah’
22. Photodementia ‘Postpre’
23.Micro Controlled Corp. ‘Life Style’
24. DJ Di’jital ‘Bang’
25. The Martians ‘Eagle Dance’
26. The Horrorist ‘The Virus’
27. Alien FM ‘It’s About The Bangin’
28. The Advent ‘ID’
29. UR ‘Nannytown’
30. AS1 ‘Speaker Sex’
31. Paul Blackford ‘Fallout’
32. Adam Beyer ‘ID’
33. DJ Stingray ‘Nudge Theory’
34. Urban Tribe ‘Rna World’

Rob McCallum is DJ Mag’s deputy digital editor. Follow him on Twitter here.