Skip to main content

Jayda G announces debut album on Ninja Tune, ‘Significant Changes’: Listen

The debut LP from rising star will land on 22nd March…

Jayda G will release her debut album, ‘Significant Changes’, via Ninja Tune on 22nd March.

The album will land a month after she finishes up her four-week Phonox residency, and will feature nine original cuts of her joyous and off-kilter brand house, disco and funk.

The album’s title is a reference to the revered DJ/producer’s Masters thesis in Resource and Environmental Management, in which she specialised in environmental toxicology. ‘Significant Changes’ was the most used phrase in her thesis and also, as she explains, exemplifies the crossover between the scientific and musical sides of her work.

“I’m trying to bring my two worlds together… to bridge the communication gap, engage people in a new way”, she explains in the album’s press release. “I don’t know if people in the electronic music world will want to talk about the environment but I think I should try! I think it’s our duty to use a platform like this in a positive way, that’s our social responsibility.”

To mark the announcement of the release, Jayda G has shared an album track, ‘'Leave Room 2 Breathe', featuring guest vocals from regular collaborator Alexa Dash. It is one of two tracks on the album that feature the singer. You can hear it below.

As well as her Phonox residency, Jayda G will be embarking on an extensive tour to promote the LP, with dates locked across the UK, Europe, Asia and North America. Full details and tickets for the tour can be found here.

On the 5th and 19th of February, Jayda G will host talks with Dr. Lily Zeng and Dr. Lindsay Veazey in which they aim to to offer young scientists a platform to discuss their recent academic work and their personal journeys in the hop of bridging the communication gap between critical work in contemporary science and a broader accessible audience. You can find more info on JMG talks here.

You can pre-order and pre-save the album here. Check out the tracklist below.

1. Unifying the Center (Abstract)
2. Renewal (Hyla Mix)
3. Stanley’s Get Down (No Parking on the DF)
4. Leave Room 2 Breathe (feat. Alexa Dash)
5. Orca’s Reprise
6. Missy Knows What’s Up
7. Sunshine in the Valley (feat. Alexa Dash)
8. Move to the Front (Disco Mix)
9. Conclusion