Skip to main content
Olivia Stock
26 April 2024, 11:22

salute announces new album, ‘TRUE MAGIC’, shares single featuring Rina Sawayama: Listen

The 14-track record will feature collaborations with Disclosure, Empress Of, Sam Gellaitry and more

Photo of salute wearing a pink suit with a yellow shirt
Credit: Lewis Vorn

salute have announced details of their collaboration-heavy new album, ‘TRUE MAGIC’.

Landing on July 12th via Ninja Tune, it features 14 new tracks from the Manchester-based DJ and producer, including collaborations with the likes of Disclosure, Karma Kid, Sam Gellaitry, piri, Léa Sen and more.

The announcement is accompanied by the release of the album’s second single ‘saving flowers’, featuring Japanese singer and producer, Rina Sawayama. The track follows the February single, ‘system’, with Empress Of, which will also feature on the record.

Speaking on the creation of ‘TRUE MAGIC’, salute shared: “I took a pop approach to the record. I went in quite blindly just with some loops and ideas but there’s much more of a focus on songwriting and collaboration on this album.”

“In dance music there always seems to be this focus on doing everything yourself but I wanted to get a team around me to develop the ideas I had,” they continued. “One thing I’m really proud of is how organic the work with the collaborators is. I’ve managed to get such a breadth of amazing people on the record.”

Visually and aesthetically, ‘TRUE MAGIC’ takes inspiration from old Japanese car adverts, which salute spent hours searching through YouTube archives to find. They went on to develop the concept for the record around the notion of driving an old JDM (Japanese Domestic Market) car in an imaginary race named TRUE MAGIC.

“Watching old TV recordings my parents made on VHS led me to comfort watch old ad compilations on Youtube,” salute shared on the concept, “then eventually old car ads, and finally I stumbled upon old japanese car ads through a rabbit hole.”

Ahead of the album release, salute will be performing at Four Tet & Friends Festival in New York on 5th May, before heading on a full European tour with stops in Manchester, London, Paris, Barcelona and more.

Listen to ‘saving flowers’ with Rina Sawayama now. Pre-order ‘TRUE MAGIC’ here, and check out the tracklist below.

salute was DJ Mag’s April cover star. Read their full interview with Kamila Rymajdo here.

You can also revisit salute’s set from DJ Mag HQ here

‘TRUE MAGIC’ tracklist:

1. ‘start’
2. ‘saving flowers (with Rina Sawayama)’
3. ‘reason (with Karma Kid)’
4. ‘lift off! (with Disclosure)’
5. ‘maybe it’s u (with Sam Gellaitry)’
6. ‘go! (with なかむらみなみ)’
7. ‘true magic, bonus round’
8. ‘one of those nights (with Empress Of)’
9. ‘move faster...’
10. ‘system’
11. ‘softly (with Léa Sen)’
12. ‘luv stuck (with piri)’
13. ‘perfect (with LEILAH)’
14. ‘drive (with LEILAH)’