Skip to main content
April Clare Welsh
13 May 2022, 12:51

Kendrick Lamar releases new album ‘Mr. Morale & The Big Steppers’: Listen

Featuring collaborations with Portishead’s Beth Gibbons, Sampha, Ghostface Killah, Thundercat and more

Kendrick Lamar releases new album ‘Mr. Morale & The Big Steppers’: Listen

Kendrick Lamar has released his eagerly awaited new album, ‘Mr. Morale & The Big Steppers’. You can listen to it below.

The 18-track follow-up to his Pulitzer-winning 2017 LP 'Damn' is split into two parts, with disc one featuring appearances from Summer Walker and Ghostface Killah on 'Purple Hearts', and disc two featuring a vocal contribution from Portishead's Beth Gibbons on 'Mother I Sober'. Sampha is featured on 'Father Time'.

Elsewhere, ‘Die Hard’ boasts a three-way collaboration between Lamar, Blxst and Amanda Reifer, ‘We Cry Together’ sees him team up with Taylour Paige, and he is reunited with former collaborator Baby Keem on 'Savior'. Among the album's producers are Pharrell, Duval Timothy, the Alchemist, Boi-1da, and more. 

The LP also contains new single 'The Heart Part 5’, as well as weaving in spoken snippets of spritual teacher and writer Eckhart Tolle. Lamar’s partner Whitney Alford is also listed as a narrator on 'We Cry Together'. ‘Mr. Morale & The Big Steppers’ is Lamar's fifth LP and final project for his long-time label home, Top Dawg Entertainment.

The US rapper is set to headline Milan Summer Festival at Ippodromo SNAI San Siro, Milan, Italy, on Thursday 23rd June.

In other Kendrick news, he is currently working on a new live-action comedy film with the creators of South Park, Matt Stone and Trey Parker. Production on the as-yet-untitled project is due to begin later this year.