Skip to main content

NTS announces amapiano compilation with new Gaba Cannal track: Listen

Kamo Mphela, Mr JazziQ and Vigro Deep also feature, with two tunes from DBN Gogo

NTS has announced a new amapiano compilation, showcasing new music from the prominent South African subcultural scene. 'Amapiano Now' will land on 23rd July. 

The release runs to no less than 17 tracks. Genre stalwarts Mr JazziQ, Vigro Deep, and Caltonic SA all feature, as does legendary producer DBN Gogo, who appears twice via collaborations with Dinho and Musa Keys. 

Soweto-based artist Kamo Mphela presents her first fresh music since breakthrough single 'Nkulunkulu'. And a new tune by revered amapiano hero, Gaba Cannal (pictured), is also included, which has been unveiled ahead of the full record.

Amapiano's rise to prominence reflects South Africa's unique and burgeoning house music landscape. Nodding to jazz, kwaito, low-tempo 1990s dance music, Bacardi, and soul, while still entirely of its own making, last year the sound gained recognition on a global scale. 

The jury remains out on its precise origins, though. Some claim Gauteng, where its popularity first became outwardly visible, others suggest Johannesburg's townships or the administrative capital, Pretoria, are responsible. Learn more about this in DJ Mag's recent music column, 'Amapiano Takeover'. Meanwhile, NTS is currently on the hunt for new presenters and "genre specialists" to host its radio shows. 


Various Artists — 'Amapiano Now'

1. Caltonic SA ft. DJ Buckz, Thabz Le Madonga — Super Star

2. DBN Gogo & Musa Keys & Dinho (ft Koek Sister, Optimist Music SA, Makhanj & Lebza TheVillain) — Possible

3. Alfa Kat & TidoSoul — Sip Sip

4. MachiinaSA — James Bond

5. Gaba Cannal ft. E_Clips Mzansi — Shona Le

6. King Jazz — Lockdown

7. Teno Afrika — Power Station

8. MaWhoo ft. DJ Obza & Bongo Beats — Mswapheni

9. Kamo Mphela — Thula Thula

10. Mr JazziQ & Mphow69 — Stuff Room

11. Vigro Deep — Groove

12. Unlimited Soul — Utlwa

13. DBN Gogo & Felo Le Tee — Shuck n Jive

14. Entity MusiQ — 10111

15. DJ Nasty KG & VinoSA ft Teedo — Imali

16. Eminent Boyz & Sisters On Vocal — Mabena

17. Vusinator — It’s Never Too Late