Skip to main content

Prince’s ‘1999’ to get huge box set reissue

Containing every piece of Prince recorded in 1982... 

Prince’s seminal album, ‘1999’, is to get a huge box set reissue this winter. 

The record was first unveiled back in 1982, and is widely regarded as the pop superstar's breakthrough release. His fifth studio LP, it contains hits such as 'Little Red Corvette', 'Lady Cab Driver' and the less-driving themed 'Delirious', 'International Lover' and 'Let's Pretend We're Married', alongside the anthemic title number. It was also the first to feature his band, the Revolution. 

The Prince Estate has now confirmed that it will release '1999: Remastered And Expanded Edition' on 29th November 2019. Three version will be available— the remastered original album in CD and vinyl format, another with an additional two CDs and four LPs of bonus material and the largest with five CDs, ten LPs and one DVD.  

Depending on which option they punt for, fans can get their hands on a huge collection of 12" mixes, 7" versions, and promo cuts. The largest package comprises every piece of music recorded by Prince in 1982, alongside later additions to his oeuvre in demo or alternative versions. 

The news follows the announcement last month that three of Prince's 1990s albums were heading for vinyl reissue for the first time ever. Meanwhile, in June it was confirmed that his seminal 'The Black Album', AKA 'The Funk Bible', lays claim to the most expensive US sale of all time on the Discogs marketplace