Skip to main content
Charlotte Krol
25 October 2023, 12:02

Ciel announces debut album, ‘Homesick’, shares ‘Bamboo’: Listen

A “deeply personal dancefloor record” from the Parallel Minds boss

Ciel lays on the floor in a press image
Credit: Dan Only

Parallel Minds label co-founder and DJ Ciel has shared details of her debut album ‘Homesick’ released its first single, ‘Bamboo’. Listen to it below. 

‘Homesick’ will be released via her label on 24th November and is available to pre-order here.

Ciel, the Xi’an, China-born and Toronto, Canada-based DJ's debut LP follows her recent 'Orlando' EP on !K7 and an anthology of previously released work on Eris Drew’s newly launched label, Ecstatic Editions. After securing a grant, Ciel – who previously described herself as a “DJ first, producer second” – began working on the album during the Covid-enforced period of time spent away from playing at clubs and festivals. 

Per the album's press material, like many other members of the Chinese diaspora in the West during Covid, Ciel felt anxious and distressed over a rise in anti-Chinese sentiment and racism. She found that the best way to manage her emotions was to channel it into music, which resulted in her first full-length project.

'Homesick' incorporates traditional Chinese instruments, and finds Ciel using samples and analogue instruments across eight tracks. Eight traditional instruments (silk, bamboo, wood, stone, metal, clay, gourd and hide) were used by Li to shape her writing, with focus given solely to each instrument on the different tracks.

The Parallel Minds boss also hired traditional Chinese instrumentalists to play the guzheng and the xiao, and purchased and taught herself hand drum instruments including the kuaiban (bamboo clappers) and muyu (temple blocks). 

Genres including drum & bass, house, electro and downtempo are explored on ‘Homesick’, which is described as “a deeply personal dancefloor record”.

Stream the first single ‘Bamboo’ and see the full tracklist below.

Ciel has also announced an upcoming tour, during which she will play shows across China, Japan and Australia. Check the dates below. 

Revisit DJ Mag’s Recognise interview with Ciel, accompanied by a mix, and dive into her picks for DJ Mag's Selections series from last year.

‘Homesick’ tracklist:

A1. ‘Bamboo’
A2. ‘String’
B1. ‘Gourd’
B2. ‘Hide’
C1. ‘Breath’
C2. ‘Wood’
C3. ‘Metal’
D1. ‘Stone’
D2. ‘Silk’