Skip to main content

Diplo reveals Major Lazer will release four new singles imminently

Also confirms upcoming collaborations with Ariana Grande, Camila Cabello, Travis Scott, The Weeknd & more...

Major Lazer have confirmed that they are set to release four new songs, with the first coming this month before more new music follows in May.

The trio – made up of Diplo, Jillionaire and Walshy Fire – were speaking in a new interview, in which Dip also revealed the band have been working in the studio with Ariana Grande, Camila Cabello, Travis Scott, The Weeknd and Sam Hunt.

“We have more unreleased music than ever before right now," Diplo told Billboard. "Major Lazer has always been a summer act; we’ve always had our streaks during the festival seasons. We’re a little late this year, but we’re going to start putting out records next month into May, a bunch of new singles."

Major Lazer were revealed as part of Glastonbury Festival’s first wave line-up last month (30th March), alongside headliners Radiohead, Foo Fighters and Ed Sheeran.

The trio also revealed their remix of Sheeran’s ‘Shape of You’ in February, which enlisted the vocal talents of Nyla and Kranium.

Diplo revealed that Major Lazer’s album, ‘Music Is The Weapon’, which was originally slated for release in January 2017 on his Mad Decent label, may not come at all as the trio are focusing on releasing singles instead.

Rob McCallum is DJ Mag’s deputy digital editor. Follow him on Twitter here.