Skip to main content
Charlotte Krol
6 November 2023, 15:56

Kate Bush, Missy Elliott, Chaka Khan, more inducted into Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame

Willie Nelson, Elton John songwriter Bernie Taupin, and the late George Michael were also inducted

Kate Bush; Missy Elliott, and Chaka Khan seen in a composite image
Flickr/John Keogh; Flickr/Romana Pierzga; press-supplied image

Kate Bush, Missy Elliott, Chaka Khan and more acts have been inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame.

Bush, who was unable to attend the ceremony held at Brooklyn’s Barclays Center on Friday (3rd November), wrote in a statement on her website that she “could never have dreamed” of receiving the honour. She extended congratulations to Bernie Taupin, Elton John's writing partner, who was also inducted.

“When I was growing up my hero was Elton John. I poured over his music, longed to be able to play piano like him and longed to write songs that could move people in the way his work moved me,” she wrote.

“That little girl in South East London could never have dreamed she’d be sharing the event tonight with Bernie Taupin, Elton’s writing partner, an incredible lyricist who inspired me to keep writing songs – to keep trying. Congratulations Bernie! Congratulations to everyone who is being inducted tonight!”

Taupin was recognised in the Musical Excellence category, while Bush was recognised in the performer category alongside Missy Elliott and others.

Bush’s induction was introduced by Outkast rapper Big Boi – her “biggest fan” – who gave a lengthy dedication to the “true visionary” that he’s been “obsessed” with since his uncle introduced him to her music while he was a teenager. Read his full speech via Pitchfork here

Elsewhere, Missy Elliott made history as the first female rapper to be inducted into the Hall. Queen Latifah gave the introductory speech and hailed Elliott as a trailblazer.

Elliott – who was honoured with a street named after her in her Virginia hometown last year – then gave a career-spanning performance including songs ‘Get Ur Freak On’ and ‘Work It’. “I’m still pinching myself to even be in a room with some of the inductees,” Elliott said in her acceptance speech, which you can read in full here

Chaka Khan received the Musical Excellence Award, recognised for both her solo catalogue and as part of synth-funk pioneers Rufus. The aforementioned Taupin was also awarded that gong, as was Al Kooper, who formerly worked as a rock-focused manager, producer and songwriter. 

The funk, disco and R&B queen Khan performed ‘I Feel for You’ with Common, ‘Sweet Thing’ with H.E.R., and ‘Ain’t Nobody’ and ‘I’m Every Woman’ with Sia at the ceremony.

This year’s Musical Influence Awards went to hip-hop legend DJ Kool Herc and the late Link Wray. The Ahmet Ertegun Award was posthumously awarded to Don Cornelius, the creator of Soul Train.

Willie Nelson, Rage Against The Machine, and The Spinners were some of the other acts inducted into the Hall this year.

Guest appearances at the ceremony included Elton John, Olivia Rodrigo, Chris Stapleton, Dave Matthews, and LL Cool J.

The artists who were nominated for 2023 induction but didn't make the final cut are: A Tribe Called Quest, Cyndi Lauper, Iron Maiden, Joy Division/New Order, Soundgarden, Warren Zevon, and The White Stripes.