Skip to main content

Moritz von Oswald announces new album, ‘Silencio’, on Tresor

The first single ‘Infinito’ is out now

Moritz von Oswald poses in front of a bookcase of vinyl records

Moritz von Oswald has shared details of his new album, ‘Silencio’.

The German record producer and percussionist, who is co-founder of the pioneering dub techno production duo and record label Basic Channel, releases ‘Silencio’ on 10th November via Tresor (pre-order here).

‘Silencio’ is a collaboration with the 16-voice Vocalconsort Berlin choir that explores the similarities and differences between human and artificial sound. Per press material, von Oswald has drawn inspiration from composers including Edgard Varèse, György Ligeti and Iannis Xenakis.

The relationship between von Oswald and Tresor Records goes back 30 years to Blake Baxter’s ‘Dream Sequence’ in 1991. Von Oswald engineered that album with Thomas Fehlmann.

Von Oswald's collaborative work with Fehlmann has since seen the duo team up as 3MB with Eddie Fowlkes or Juan Atkins.

More recently, the Detroit-Berlin connection continued under the project Juan Atkins and Moritz von Oswald present Borderland.

‘Silencio’ marks Oswald's first album since his 2017 collaboration with Kyrgyzstani act Ordo Sakhna. Over the last few years the dub techno pioneer has also released music with Carl Craig and Laurel Halo.    

Watch the album teaser and listen to first single ‘Infinito’ below.

‘Silencio’ tracklist:
01. ‘Silencio’
02. ‘Luminoso’
03. ‘Librarsi’
04. ‘Infinito’
05. ‘Colpo’
06. ‘Volta (Version)’
07. ‘Infinito (Version)’
08. ‘Luminoso (Version)’
09. ‘Volta’
10. ‘Opaco’
11. ‘Opaco (Version)’