Skip to main content
Arielle Lana LeJarde
17 June 2024, 13:29

Nubya Garcia announces new album, 'Odyssey', shares 'The Seer': Listen

The album is due out 20th September on Concord Jazz

Nubya Garcia press shot
Credit: Danika Lawrence

Nubya Garcia has announced the release of her new album, ‘Odyssey’, and shared its first single, ‘The Seer’. Listen to it below.

'Odyssey' will arrive on 20th September via Concord Jazz, the album follows the release of Garcia’s 2023 single, ‘Lean In’. The 12-track album features collaborations with numerous Black female musicians, namely Esperanza Spalding, Richie Seivwright and Georgia Anne Muldrow. The album is produced by regular collaborator, Kwes, who was also behind the soundtrack for the 2023 Peckham rom-com, Rye Lane.

In a statement about the album, Garcia said: "It represents the notion of truly being on your own path, and trying to discard all the outside noise saying you should go this way or that way.”

Her new single, 'The Seer', explores the desire to know what will happen next, or as Garcia puts it: "Wishing that you could get a peek at the future or even just gathering some guidelines in your own future so that you could know that you're on the right path.”

Listen to 'The Seer' and check out 'Odyssey''s tracklist below.

Back in 2021, DJ Mag took a deep dive into the UK’s vibrant experimental jazz scene – you can read the full feature here.

Nubya Garcia 'Odyssey'

1. Dawn feat. esperanza spalding 
2. Odyssey 
3. Solstice
4. Set It Free feat. Richie
5. The Seer 
6. Odyssey (Outerlude) 
7. We Walk In Gold feat. Georgia Anne Muldrow 
8. Water’s Path 
9. Clarity 
10. In Other Words, Living 
11. Clarity (Outerlude) 
12. Triumphance