Serato launch new Twitch series celebrating the history of Black music in America | DJMag.com Skip to main content

Serato launch new Twitch series celebrating the history of Black music in America

The month-long series will be hosted by Professor Fredara Mareva Hadley

serato black music history
serato black music history

DJ software giants Serato are hosting a month-long five-part series of streams on their Twitch channel, celebrating the history of Black music in America. 

Hosted by ethnomusicologist professor at Julliard’s department of music history, Dr Fredara Mareva Hadley, whose work looks at how people of African descent use music genres to construct and maintain community. She’ll be joined by DJ and producer Rich Medina for two of the episodes. 

Streams will cover topics such as ‘Slavery to Civil Rights’, ‘Civil Rights to Hip Hop’ and hip-hop itself. The full schedule is below. Follow Serato on Twitch here

Session 1 / Slavery to Civil Rights
Wednesday Feb. 3rd 3pm PT / 6pm ET / 11pm GMT

Session 2 / Civil Rights to Hip Hop 
Wednesday Feb. 10th 3pm PT / 6pm ET / 11pm GMT

Session 3 / Hip Hop
Wednesday Feb. 17th 3pm PT / 6pm ET / 11pm GMT

Session 4 / House / Techno w/ Rich Medina
Monday Feb. 22nd 3pm PT / 6pm ET / 11pm GMT

Session 5 / Sampling w/ Rich Medina
Wednesday Feb. 24th 3pm PT / 6pm ET / 11pm GMT

 

Topics