Skip to main content

Slikback, Hyph11E, more collaborate on two-part joint release from Nyege Nyege's Hakuna Kulala and SVBKVLT

The EPs coincide with this year's edition of Nyege Nyege Festival

East Asia and East Africa's finest labels are joining forces with Shanghai's SVBKVLT and Uganda's Hakuna Kulala crew set to put out a two-part release featuring both labels' key players.

'Slip A' and 'Slip B' will see Kenyan DJ and producer Slikback joining forces with a number of producers from SVBKVLT's roster including Hyph11E, 33EMYBW, Osheyack and Yen Tech. The joint release from the two labels was born from artists from both imprints playing at last year's edition of CTM in Berlin. Following that, SVBKVT invited Slikback on a tour of China which led to a number of collaborative studio sessions between him and artists from the former.

'Slip A' sees Slikback collaborate with 33EMYBW, Osheyack and Yen Tech, while on 'Slip B', he and Hyph11E share production duties across three tracks, while also each contributing a remix.

Both EPs will be released on September 6th to coincide with this year's edition of Nyege Nyege Festival in Jinja, Uganda. Representatives of both labels will play at the festival, while Slikback and Hyph11E will also play b2b at this year's Unsound in Kraków

You can preview both EPs below, via Slikback & 33EMYBW's collaboration, 'ZENO', and Slikback & Hyph11E's track, 'ISHU'.

Read DJ Mag's recent feature on Slikback here.