Skip to main content
Brian Coney
16 February 2022, 13:39

Violet announces new album and poetry book, 'Transparências', on Rádio Quântica

The free, 10-track album is inspired by the works of composers such as Delia Derbyshire and Wendy Carlos

Violet announces new album and poetry book, 'Transparências', on Rádio Quântica

Violet has revealed details of her forthcoming third album, 'Transparencias'. Stream three tracks from the album below. 

The Lisbon-based DJ and producer will digitally release the 10-track album  via the community-led radio station, label, and festival/concert series Rádio Quântica on 23rd February. Inspired by the works of composers including Delia Derbyshire and Wendy Carlos, and influenced by the traditions of musique concréte and library music, the album features collaborations with two of Violet’s closest friends: producers and composers BLEID and PHOEBE.

The album's tracks are described as being like "soundtracks for the practice of mundane activities", such as 'música para andar de transportes’ (music for taking public transport), ‘música para cantar no banho’ (music for singing in the shower) or ‘música para passear o cão à noite’ (music for walking the dog at night). It's a typically varied collection from the artist, who blends elements of ambient, jazz, jungle, downtempo and more into her own personal sound. 

With Violet stating the album works towards "the idea of music as a universal right," the digital version is free and can be pre-ordered now via Bandcamp for a €1 donation, which will go toward supporting Rádio Quântica.

A CD version of the album will be released in March and is accompanied by a book of poems written by Violet, said to "complement the sonic language with the written word in a multi-disciplinary piece that will be distributed free of charge in cultural and community spaces in March 2022."

Fans can email [email protected] to access the poetry book digitally

The album was mastered by Photonz, with artwork designed by Brazilian artist and dancer Dipsy Rei.

Stream three tracks from the release below.