Skip to main content
Marissa Cetin
2 November 2022, 13:41

Warp announces ‘Artificial Intelligence’ compilation 30th anniversary vinyl reissue

The seminal 1992 compilation — featuring Aphex Twin, Autechre and Richie Hawtin — gets its first wax repressing in three decades

Warp announces ‘Artificial Intelligence’ compilation 30th anniversary vinyl reissue

Warp Records is reissuing its game-changing 1992 compilation 'Artificial Intelligence' on vinyl for the first time to mark its 30th anniversary.

Out 9th December, the reissue features all ten original tracks by Aphex Twin as The Dice Man, Autechre, Richie Hawtin under his Up! alias, Speedy J, B12 with the moniker Musicology, I.A.O. and The Orb's Dr Alex Paterson. The original artwork by The Designers Republic also remains. 

'Artificial Intelligence' was the first release in Warp's  "electronic listening music" series of the same name, spanning eight releases from the likes of Auetchre, F.U.S.E. and Polygon Window from 1992 through '94. As with the original release, the following instructional prose accompanies the LP:

"Are you sitting comfortably?
Artificial Intelligence is for long journeys
quiet nights and club drowsy dawns.
Listen with an open mind."

Check out Warp's website for the reissue which features historical information about the compilation and each of its tracks, as well as a music player. 

In September, Aphex Twin released a free "sample-mashing" app called Samplebrain.