Skip to main content
Jack Ramage
21 February 2024, 12:34

'90s breakbeat hardcore explored in new Blank Mind compilation

The compilation will feature eight tracks that were released between 1991 and 1994

Blank Mind announes 90s breakbeat hardcore compilation

A new compilation on UK label Blank Mind shines a light on '90s breakbeat hardcore tracks. 

Slated for release on 25th March, ‘Lost Paradise: Blissed Out Breakbeat Hardcore 1991​-​94’ will feature eight tracks from the era. Curated by Tammo Hesselink and label founder Sam Purcell, the release will include tracks from DJ Mayhem, The Invisible Man, Skanna, Xray Xperiments, and more.

According to the Bandcamp description, the compilation consists of cuts that “span a short three-year period and bridge the gap between scenes”, drawing influence from" Sheffield bleep ambience, heady rave futurism and soft, almost new age synth pads". The description goes on to say that the collection finds “the sweet spot where the influence of Warp’s Artificial Intelligence, back room chill out sonics and the nascent jungle boom meet with elements of Italian piano house and slower breakbeat cuts.”

The compilation is available for pre-order now in both digital format and as a double-pack 12" vinyl. You can secure a copy here

You can listen to ‘Inesse’ by DJ Mayhem below.

Last week, another compilation, 'The Hidden Beauty Of Dutch House ('94-'98)' was announced. Set for release on 15th March, the collection marks the inaugural release on the Anacalypto Records label. 

Back in 2022, ‘90s rave crew Spiral Tribe’s live duo R-Zac reissued their 1993 album of 'free party' anthems, 'Trailer Trax'. Revisit DJ Mag's feature on the history of Spiral Tribe, the UK’s most notorious travelling sound system here.