Skip to main content

Tainy releases new album, ‘Data’, featuring Skrillex, Four Tet, Arca, more

‘Data’ features 20 star-studded collaborative tracks

Photo of Tainy with a pink background

Puerto Rican artist Tainy has shared his full-length solo debut, ‘Data’, via Neon16. Listen to the album below.

Released yesterday (29th June), the star-studded new LP features guest contributions from Skrillex, Arca, Four Tet, Mora, Daddy Yankee, and more. The 2022 single ‘Sci-Fi’ – a collaboration with Rauw Alejandro – and the 2021 Bad Bunny and Julieta Venegas track, ‘Lo Siento BB:/’, also appear on the 19-track album.

Leading up to ‘Data’s release on Thursday, Tainy shared a series of stills that outlined the concept behind the album, which is inspired by the 1995 cyber-punk anime, Ghost in the Shell. Japanese artist Hiromasa Ogura, who was behind the art direction for the cult classic, also designed the artwork for the record, which Tainy described as “the cover of my dreams.”

To coincide with the release, Tainy has also shared a music video for the new Bad Bunny collab, ‘Mojabi Ghost’.

“The album name, DATA, comes from the idea that music and songs are information that we receive, DATA for our brains that in many ways shape who we are,” Tainy told Complex of the album. “So I took that idea as a metaphor, and treated the concept of the album like a movie in which I create a cyborg called ‘Sena’ who we see in the cover, and each track is DATA that I'm uploading to make her come to life.”

‘DATA’ is out now. Listen to the LP below.