Skip to main content
Marissa Cetin
29 June 2022, 17:56

Unsound announces first names and theme for 2022 festival

The beloved experimental Kraków festival's 20th anniversary theme is Bubbles, a nod to celebration and community

Unsound announces first names and theme for 2022 festival

Unsound has revealed the theme for the 20th anniversary edition of its flagship Kraków festival this year.

The festival, which will run from 9th October through the 16th, will unfold under the banner of "Bubbles", not only a nod to the milestone edition but "also refer[ring] to the way that different communities are isolated from one another and connected, whether through social media, geography or politics." Additionally, it'll incorporate themes from Hyman P. Minsky's financial five speculative bubble stages: Displacement, Boom, Euphoria, Profit Taking and Panic.

In a change this year, Unsound will not use its usual venue of Hotel Forum, a disused communist-era building in 2012, for The Ectoplasm. However since then, "Hotel Forum has now been overtaken by cafes, bars and commerce," the Unsound team wrote in the announcement. "Like the festival itself, The Ectoplasm no longer has space." The Ectoplasm's new venue will be announced at a later date.

Live performers in the first-round artist announcement include Caroline Polachek, Marina Herlop, Eris Drew, Lila Tirando a Violeta, Lucrecia Dalt, KRENZ, Debit and Alyona Alyona. There will be sets from the likes of Two Shell, Loraine James, Yung Singh, Madikoptah, DJ Swisha, Phelimuncasi, and Moor Mother and DJ Haram's 700 Bliss. Multi-award-winning composer Hildur Guðnadóttir will also perform with Sam Slater, James Ginzburg and Rully Shabara as Osmium for the first time.

More artist names, educational programme and venue details are still to come.

See the announcement on Instagram.

Photo credit: Zuza Sosnowska