Skip to main content
Martin Guttridge-Hewitt
31 March 2022, 12:53

Louie Vega announces new album, ‘Expansions in the NYC’

Honey Dijon, Moodymann, Kerri Chandler and Robyn all feature

Louie Vega announces new album, ‘Expansions in the NYC’

House legend Louie Vega has announced a new album, 'Expansions in the NYC'. It will be released on 29th April via New York's Nervous Records. Check out the tracklist and artwork below. 

The album features appearances from fellow dance music luminaries Moodymann, Kerri Chandler, Joe Claussell, Honey Dijon, chart-topping pop artist Robyn and others.The release borrows it title from the Masters At Work producer and DJ's club night, which he founded in 2019. It's the artist's since 2018's 'NYC Disco', which followed 2017's Grammy nominated LP, 'Louie Vega Starring... XXVIII'.

“In the past few years I’ve found new inspiration both from the musicians I’m working with and the audiences coming to see me at my DJ shows,” said Vega. “So for me this album represents new beginnings, bringing together a beautiful mosaic of artistic perspectives to express musically what we call Expansions in the NYC.”

Hear clips from the album and pre-order here.

A key figurehead of the New York scene, Vega's career stretches back to the mid-1980s when he began playing at block parties in the city, eventually graduating to residencies and regular appearances at institutions like Roseland, Heartthrob, and Studio 54, founding Masters At Work in 1990 alongside Kenny 'Dope Gonzalez'. 

This summer, fans can catch him at events including Detroit's landmark electronic weekender, Movement, and Gilles Peterson's UK-based arts and music festival, We Out Here. Revisit DJ Mag's feature on how Masters At Work's Nuyorican Soul project took the duo back to their Latin roots, and take another look at Vega DJing from our London HQ

Louie Vega album cover showing his name and album title on an oil painting of a residential a New York street

01 Igobolo (Feelin’ Love) [ft. Joe Claussell]
02 Joy Universal [ft. Two Soul Fusion]
03 You Got Me Dancing [ft. Audrey Wheeler and Cindy Mizelle]
04 All My Love [ft. Robyn]
05 Music Is My Life [ft. Unlimited Touch]
06 Free to Love [ft. Karen Harding]
07 Seven Mile [ft. Moodymann]
08 Come Away [ft. Kerri Chandler]
09 Feel So Right [ft. Honey Dijon]
10 How He Works [ft. Nico Vega]
11 Atmosphere Strut [ft. DJ Spinna]
12 Cosmic Witch [ft. Anané]
13 Chimi
14 Love Has No Time or Place
15 The Star of a Story [ft. Lisa Fischer]
16 Change Your Mind [ft. Bernard Fowler]
17 It’s All Good [ft. Bebe Winans, Debbie Winans and Korean Soul]
18 Dreaming [ft. Cindy Mizelle]
19 Deep Burnt [ft. Axel Tosca]
20 Another Day in My Life
21 I Hear Music in the Street [ft. Unlimited Touch]
22 Touch the Sky [ft. Tony Momrelle]