Skip to main content
Olivia Stock
26 April 2024, 11:57

Actress announces new album, ‘Statik’, on Smalltown Supersound

Listen to the first two singles – ‘Dolphin Spray’ and ‘Static’ – now

Photo of Actress wearing a long trench coat and hat
Credit: Ola Rindal

Actress has announced a new album for Smalltown Supersound, ‘Statik’.

Set for release on 7th June, the 11-track album sees the English electronic musician exploring themes of meditation and transcendence, which he introduces on the first two singles released this week. Listen to ‘Dolphin Spray’ and ‘Static’ below.

The album marks Actress’ first full length for Norwegian label Smalltown Supersound, which he formed a relationship with after remixing a track from Carmen Villain’s ‘Only Love From Now On’ LP in 2022. It follows last year’s ‘LXXXVIII’ LP, released on Ninja Tune, which featured the singles ‘Push Power ( a 1 )’ and ‘Game Over ( e 1 )’.

According to press material, Actress wrote the majority of the new record “in an extensive flow state”, which lends it a sense of freedom and stillness. Fans can expect to hear “novel elemental atmospheres” in addition to the producer’s trademark meditative electronica.

Catch Actress performing at festivals including Dekmantel, Houghton and RALLY this summer.

‘Statik’ is out on 7th June via Smalltown Supersound. Pre-order the album here, and check out the full tracklist below.

Last year, Smalltown Supersound released an expansive remix anthology compilation featuring contributions from the likes of Four TetLoraine James, DJ Harvey, Oneohtrix Point Never, Charli XCX and more. 

‘Statik’ tracklist:

1. ‘Hell’
2. ‘Static’
3. ‘My Ways’
4. ‘Rainlines’
5. ‘Ray’
6. ‘Six’
7. ‘Cafe del Mars’
8. ‘Dolphin Spray’
9. ‘System Verse’
10. ‘Doves Over Atlantis’
11. ‘Mellow Checx’